father was a miner

 

 

father was a miner,

he worked deep underground.

 

 

 

 

the rush of drams and clanking chains,

they were his daily sounds.

 

 

 

 

he worked so far below the ground,

where coal was hewed by pick.

 

 

 

 

the world so hard and wages small,

he didn’t dare go sick.

 

 

 

 

he crawled upon his belly,

in drifts so low and narrow.

 

 

 

 

the wind it whistled down the shaft,

it chilled him to the marrow.

 

 

 

 

het ate his food from a tommy box,

shaped like a slice of bread.

 

 

 

 

while squatting down upon the ground,

where spit and crumbs were shed.

 

 

his water, it was in a jack,

to wet down clouds of dust.

 

 

 

 

that gatehered in his throat and lungs,

where it formed a deadly crust.

 

 

 

 

we would listen for his footsteps,

he then come into sight.

 

 

 

 

this man, our dad, as black as black,

just like the darkest night.

 

 

 

 

his bath was always ready,

set down in front of fire.

 

 

 

 

my mother then would wash his back,

and tell us to retire.

 

 

 

 

right down his back white rivers ran

amongst the dirt and grime.

 

 

 

 

but you cannot wash away blue scars

that you get down in the mine

 

 

 

 

years now have passed.

my father gone,

 

 

 

 

but I am proud to say,

my father was a miner,

until his dying day.

 

william holman.

 

 

see me, feel me

 

 

see me

feel me

touch me

heal me

 

 

 

 

listning to you, I get the music

gazing at you, I get the heat

following you, I climb the mountain

I get excitement at your feet

 

 

 

 

right behind you, I see the millions

on you, I see the glory

from you, I get opinion

from you, I get the story

 

the who